Posted by: mylifeisepic | July 10, 2007

Leading? Or Living?

We watched a session from Catalyst 2005 in our staff meeting this morning, and it really spoke to me.  Louie Giglio was talking about worship, leading, and living.  I’m just going to share some of the notes I wrote down.  In no way is all of this comprehensive, but rather stream of consciousness note-taking.

Louie

Giglio was talking about the big fascination with leadership in today’s church, and had a question to us concerning leading and living.  We lead and we lead some more, we strategize, we worry about flowcharts, paperwork, vision, blah blah blah.  All of those things are important, valuable, and necessary….but are we too busy LEADING that we forget to LIVE?

Question:  Are you going to life?  And HOW are you going to life?

2 Timothy 4:6 says “For I am already being poured out like a drink offering….until the time for my departure.”

“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.”

WE are prized by majesty.  Living begins there.  

Leading is secondary to living.

Worship is REVELATION, and then RESPONSE.

Our response to God in worship:  there is nothing I could give you that would be too much.

Worship is simple.  We’ve complicated it.

Check out this worship “flow-chart” over the years: 

Hymns.  Traditional Worship.  Contemporary Worship.  Modern Worship.  Cutting Edge Worship.  Post-Modern Worship.  Emergent Worship.

We’re so confused on what worship really is.  Worship is OUR life in HIS hands.  ME in HIS hands.   MY life in HIS plans.  How amazing!!!

Be consumed by God, not consumers of God.

Consumers ask:  “What’s in it for me?”

Consumees ask:  “What can I give?”

Worship is all about SURRENDER, not STYLE.

Consumer:  enjoyment.  Consumee:  Costly worship & requires sacrifice.

We should always want to give more.

WOW:  Sometimes worship can be just like us complimenting our wives in public just because it makes us look good – but it didn’t do anything for them.

Living = a life of worship.  Our lives are worship.  Life is worship.

You are prized by majesty, who gave supremely, and you can respond wholly because he gave supremely.

Responses

  1. Man you guys watch TV in staff meeting? No wonder you like it there!

    Those are some good thoughts about worship. I know I find it easy for me to focus on the production side of worship since I’m usually in the tech booth.

    But I do notice most songs seem to focus on what we’re doing for God instead of who God is and what he’s done for us.

    From seeing around 1,000 services from the tech booth over the last 3 years I can tell you people respond more to the songs about God than the songs about what we are doing.

    So how do you establish a worship environment that focuses on being a consumee when we live in a consumer culture?


Leave a Reply

Categories

