Posted by: mylifeisepic | November 15, 2007

Best Worship Songs (part 1)

I’m starting a quick series of blog posts about the best worship songs ever. Okay, I realize that this list is completely subjective and simply my opinion, but that’s still cool. These are my favorites.

IN NO PARTICULAR ORDER

1. Wholly Yours – David Crowder Band
F7572FAD-35DD-4C78-AAF6-C9F99BEDE56D.jpg

I’ve just recently discovered my affinity for this song by the DCB, and I think it’s of rockin’ quality. It’s a song that when I first heard it, I thought it was just one of the DCB songs that are too wordy/theological for most congregations, but I have come to disagree with that as of late. Here are some of the lyrics that stick out to me the most:

I am full of earth
You are heaven’s worth
I am stained with dirt, prone to depravity
You are everything that is bright and clean
The antonym of me
You are divinity
But a certain sign of grace is this
From a broken earth flowers come up
Pushing through the dirt

You are holy, holy, holy
All heaven cries “Holy, holy God”
You are holy, holy, holy
I wanna be holy like You are

That’s the first verse and the chorus. I love this song because right off the bat it establishes who we are, and what GOD is. We are dirty, at the bottom, HE is bright and clean, the very “antonym” of me. Beautiful. BUT – grace, God’s wonderful grace, is that beauty can still come from broken and dirty earth. And what comes out of that? Our worship. Pure, unadulterated praise. That’s where we, as dirty and unworthy beings connect with God AND find our worth. Plain and simple.

And here’s the bridge that is so poetic and beautiful:

But the harder I try the more clearly can I feel
The depth of our fall and the weight of it all
And so this might could be the most impossible thing
Your grandness in me making me clean

Only God can make us clean. Only HE can take our dirty laundry and make it new again. Only HE can change the depths of us and renew us like fresh spring water. IMPOSSIBLE? Yes, by our own hands. With Him living in us, we are WHOLE, and WHOLLY His.

And for a strange addition, head to the David Crowder Xanga page to view a live webcam of the band on the bus, at shows, etc. It’s live and you can actually chat with the band when they are there. Very very strange/cool.

Leave a Reply

Categories

