Posted by: mylifeisepic | December 23, 2007

A Weekend Off.

We aren’t having any weekend services tonight or tomorrow at my church, Hope Fellowship.  We decided to give all workers and volunteers the weekend off for Christmas, since we are doing 3 Christmas Eve services on Monday.

 It’s really nice to sit here on a Saturday night at my parent’s house, watch the Cowboys on tv, drink hot cocoa, and trade silly jokes with my dad. 

 I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what’s important in ministry.  I’ve been places where it’s all about numbers.  How many people you have attend your service this weekend must be more than last weekend.  Your activities/events must be better than last weekend’s events.  Your programming must be better than last week’s.  Not that it’s completely bad, because we must be able to gauge how many people are coming, and if your ministry is healthy, it WILL be growing.

 But I think we put the cart before the horse when we only gauge numbers as health.  I think numbers are the result of a healthy church/ministry.  If your people are healthy and your ministry healthy, everything else will work out. 

I really truly enjoy serving at Hope Fellowship.  I know that it’s where I’m supposed to be and I hope I can be here for a long time.

But Merry Christmas to you – enjoy your time with your family and friends.  Make it a priority – you will be healthier. 

(AA)

Leave a Reply

Categories

