Posted by: mylifeisepic | May 16, 2008

Best Worship Songs (3 of ?)

My friend Aubrey and I had a conversation this week, and it was one of those “confession” types of conversations.  We were sharing a confession that neither one of us were, honestly, that proud of.  I never thought this day would come, but I can now say that I am a Charlie Hall fan.  There – I said it.

There was a time in my life where I thought that his music was so out there and unappealing to me that I’d never enjoy one of his songs.  I guess I had just heard “Salvation spring up from the ground” one too many times.  But….times have changed.  I saw Charlie at a conference a month ago or so, and he honestly impressed me.  His lyrics were, for the most part, good and easy to sing along with.  He still seems to have a fascination with bread and wine imagery/analogies, but more power to him if he can get a whole group of Christians singing about wine!

So my next choice for the Best Worship Songs is “Marvelous Light” by Charlie Hall.  It is off of his latest album,  and this album has a few other good songs on it, such as “Center” – but that is for another post.

So, check out “Marvelous Light”, and see if the lyrics don’t awaken something inside of you.

Marvelous Light by Charlie Hall

I once was fatherless,
a stranger with no hope;
Your kindness wakened me,
Awakened me, from my sleep

Your love it beckons deeply,
a call to come and die.
By grace now I will come
And take this life, take your life.

Pre-chorus
Sin has lost it’s power,
death has lost it’s sting.
From the grave you’ve risen
VICTORIOUSLY!

Chorus
Into marvelous light I’m running,
Out of darkness, out of shame.
By the cross you are the truth,
You are the life, you are the way

Verse 3
My dead heart now is beating,
My deepest stains now clean.
Your breath fills up my lungs.
Now I’m free. now I’m free!

Bridge
Lift my hands and spin around,
See the light that i have found.
Oh the marvelous light
Marvelous light

Lift my hands and spin
See the light within…

Responses

  1. Yes, quite a shocker, but hey man just another way God is helping us to lay down the pride… and lift the bread and wine.

  2. Aaron…you have been torturing me with your awfulness for way too long…but in a good way. Also, I think I could go for some sourdough and merlot…if you know what I mean.


Leave a Reply

Categories

