Posted by: mylifeisepic | May 20, 2008

Pro Presenter

Since I’ve been in youth ministry, I think I’ve used all of the major media presentation softwares out there.

I used MediaShout when I worked with Youth Alive.

I used Easy Worship when I was at Grace Outreach Center.

I went back to using MediaShout the first year here at Hope Fellowship.

But we finally made the plunge to ProPresenter in our Student Ministries & Children’s Ministries, and we’re headed that way for our main services on the weekend.

So far, I love ProPresenter. Here’s what I love about it:

1. Seamless video transitions.

2. Ease of use.

3. It looks sexy.

4. The capability to use DVD clips from a DVD in the computer – brilliant.

5. The ability to change text, etc on the fly.

6. It’s sexy looking.

7. Much, much more.

But here’s what I don‘t love about it so far:

1. It doesn’t let me adjust the individual volume of a video. I liked out MediaShout would let us lower the gain of a specific video. Visual Reality videos seem to always be pretty loud, so it was great that we could bring it down to match the volume of other videos.

2. Choosing in and out points for videos. I also liked how MediaShout would let us create in and out points in a video – to shorten any black in front of a video, or stop it in a transition time. ProPresenter doesnt’ offer this. This would be helpful.

3. I still haven’t figured out how to drag a motion background to a file in the library and have it apply to every slide in it. I’m sure this is my fault for not figuring it out yet, but I’ve tried everything. You can drag motions and stills to individual slides, but what about when you have 50 slides in a file and want them all to be the same – is it possible to hold a few buttons down and click and drag a motion to apply it to every slide?

If anybody knows solutions or answers to any of these things I currently do not love about ProPresenter, please let me know.

(AA)

Responses

  1. I have an answer for all 3 but you may not like one of them:
    1- Adjust the volume at the sound board, that’s what practice is for. Haha

    2- Quicktime Pro will allow you to trim the i/o of your clip quickly

    3- Just cmd + drag your background to the first slide. It will stay as the active bkg until you clear or click on another slide w/ a bkg.

  2. Dave,

    1. Practice? Are we talking about practice?

    2. Of course Quicktime can do it, but why can’t ProPresenter? Is it not “smart” enough? 🙂

    3. Okay, that’s good to know.

  3. Can I just say that of all the idiots…in all the idiot villages…in all the idiot worlds…you stand alone…my friend.

    -Michael Scott


Leave a Reply

Categories

