Posted by: mylifeisepic | June 3, 2008

Hell’s Kitchen…and the Church

When the show “Hell’s Kitchen” first came on, I loved it.  It was wild, unpredictable, full of emotion, and just plain fun to watch.  I thought it was straight real.  Authentic.

But then, I found out that most of it was staged…scripted.  Dang.

So now, instead of loving this show, I absolutely hate it.  Why is that?  I mean, it’s still the same show – same stuff happens this season as it did the first season, etc.  What has changed?

The show lost it’s authenticity.  It was no longer “real”  – and no matter how entertaining it was, the mystique of authenticity was gone.  And so was I.

It made me think about churches and Christianity.  To many people, when they first visit a church or start to follow Christ, it’s exciting, fun, different, wild, full of emotion – authentic.

But, for many, something changes.

I hate it when churches are fake – unauthentic.  They become or try to be something that they truly aren’t.

We do the whole “how you keep them is how you got them” mentality, which is good, but when we get them to start coming to our church with an event that isn’t truly representative of us or just a one-time deal that is hard to reproduce over and over again, we begin to lose our authenticity.  We think we have to be something we’re not, produce something we are not every week, and try to live on a bubble of fake relationships, fake productions, and fake people.

But, just like “Hell’s Kitchen” (and also “Man vs. Wild), when we’re fake, it can only last for so long.  People catch on – they see us for what we really are – and if that is different than what we are showing them on a weekly basis, they’ll leave.  Not only will they leave the church, but they may leave the Faith alltogether.

I know that I would.

So be real.  Be yourself.  Be WHO you are – small church, big church, traditional church, emergent church, poor church, rich church, charismatic church, stuffy church.  New believer, old believer, traditional believer, emergent believer, poor believer, rich believer, charismatic believer, stuffy believer

Whatever it is – be YOU.

That authenticity is what makes it all worth doing.  The moment WE (the church, Christians) lose that, we lose all we have.

(AA)

Responses

  1. Great Post!

  2. Aaron,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog Ethos today. I love your blog and I am a fellow first-time triathlon this year.

    I have linked you at Ethos. If you would like, I would love for you to link to me as well.

    My blog is called Ethos. My URL is:
    http://www.randyelrod.typepad.com

    Thanks and your blog is awesome.

    Randy

  3. In the Spring of 2006 God sent a message. It is about the meaning of First is Last and Last is First. The message is this:
    In the morning I go to Heaven. In the afternoon I live my life. In the evening I die, death.
    What does this mean? It means that Birth is Last and Last is Birth. God also gives an example so that you can understand this better. Example: Mike Douglas died on his birthday, August 11. (note: Mike Douglas and Michael Douglas are two different people)

  4. In 2007 God said this:
    We each die in succession, then we are born on the same day.


Leave a Reply

Categories

