Posted by: mylifeisepic | June 19, 2008

Spin class…from hell!

Since I am training for the Triathlon in September (and doing the RagamuffinTop Challenge), I teamed up with my buddies Harry & Joe tonight for a spin class at 24 Hour Fitness. If you’ve never been to a spin class, let me give you a run-down:

  1. Bring a towel. You will sweat out of pores you didn’t know you had.
  2. Be prepared to get yelled out. Our leader tonight, Nina, was screaming at us while she was singing along with Kanye West’s “Stronger.” If I hadn’t of been tied down to the bike with straps from hell I may have pushed her bike over…with her on it.
  3. Find someplace to look while you’re spinning your heart out. I got tired of staring at Joe’s butt. He was in front of me and I had a great view of it – for the entire HOUR of spinning. I mean, Joe’s a good looking fella but, still.
  4. Bring water. I drank a liter of water before the class, a liter of water during the class, and a liter after….and I was STILL thirsty. I hate Nina.
  5. Sit towards the back of the class. Trust me- unless you’re really proud of your keister and want people to stare at it, sit in the back.  (refer to #3).
  6. Don’t take it personal. You sit down and spin, stand up and spin, and get yelled at to “turn it up!” by Nina as she instructs the class to increase the resistance on the bike. She’s not yelling AT you, but more, um…okay, she’s yelling at you.
  7. It’s awesome. I actually really enjoyed it. I’ve been doing the Stairmaster for about 30 minutes during cardio days (when I’m not running) and thought that was a good workout. Wrong. Spin class is so much better. Plus, you get to work out to some great tunes. Sometimes when I’m tired and listening to my Zune or iPod, I don’t have the strength to change the song. And that’s always when it’s on a random shuffle and it’s on some Kenny G Christmas song or something. Don’t ask

But I’ll be there next week at 6pm. It was definitely a good experience…and I’m really starting to feel it.

Ouch.

(AA)

Responses

  1. I didn’t know you were training for a triathalon! Way to go! – Not for me.

    Spin class is great but I get bored staring at the person in front. I typically sit in front so I don’t have to smell people’s sweat. – or look at others butts…

    Hope all the teens are behaving this week. We just think you are awesome! Thanks for taking so much time with the kids!


Leave a Reply

Categories

