Posted by: mylifeisepic | August 24, 2008

Best Worship Songs (4 of ?)

#4 – “Majesty” by Deliriou5?

Here I am humbled by Your Majesty,
Covered by Your grace so free
Here I am knowing I’m a sinful man,
Covered by the blood of the Lamb.
Now I’ve found the greatest love of all is mine,
Since You laid down Your life,
The greatest sacrifice.

Majesty, Majesty.
Your grace has found me just as I am,
Empty handed but alive in Your hands.

Here I am humbled by the love that You give,
Forgiven so that I can forgive.
So here I stand,
Knowing that I am Your desire,
Sanctified by glory and fire.
And now I’ve found the greatest love of all is mine,
Since You laid down Your life,
The greatest sacrifice.

Majesty, Majesty.
Your grace has found me just as I am,
Empty handed but alive in your hands.
Singing Majesty, Majesty.
Forever I am changed by Your love,
In the presence of Your Majesty.
Majesty.

Here’s what I love about this song – it’s simple and profound at the same time. I think that is what makes most songs special. Let’s break it down:

Verse 1
Here I am humbled by Your Majesty,
Covered by Your grace so free
Here I am knowing I’m a sinful man,
Covered by the blood of the Lamb.

I love it here because these lines seem to put us in our place. Here we are – sinful, broken, and in need. But all of our inadequacies are covered – by his grace and by the blood of the Lamb. It’s these concepts that can make our worship deeper and more in “Spirit & Truth” – when we realize the truth of our situation and our need for Him.

But my absolute favorite part is the chorus. It has a way of speaking from our spirit to God’s in a powerful way.

Majesty, Majesty.
Your grace has found me just as I am,
Empty handed but alive in your hands.
Singing Majesty, Majesty.
Forever I am changed by Your love,
In the presence of Your Majesty.
Majesty.

I love “empty handed but alive in your hands” and “forever I am changed by your love.”

Amen, amen, and amen. Let it be. Let us be changed.

(AA)

Leave a Reply

Categories

